BORDER WALL, CALEXICO, CA

Dan Meylor
2 min readMay 8, 2019

--

Border Wall, Calexico, CA, photo by Dan Meylor

I had no reason to go on a road trip.

I had no reason to drive to El Centro, CA,

Except my car could not pass

The California Smog Test

Because the catalytic convertor would not reset.

My garage and a Star Smog Station told

Me to go on a long road trip. That should do it.

I drove south to San Diego,

Drove east to El Centro,

A wilted flower in the desert barrenness.

))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

Calexico was just 11 miles south,

Calexico, a border town with a border wall

Between,

Between us and Mexico.

))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

Border Wall, Calexico CA, photo by Dan Meylor

I stood before the wall.

I realized this moment was the reason for my road trip.

Presence is all. Paying attention is revelation:

Graphic starkness, male hard-on power

Assaulting women and children,

Iron ribbed steel shafts distorting the view

Of the other side. Barbed wired

Gulag, concentration camp mentality,

Fear of the other exposed in watch towers,

Babel like barriers, dividers, fortifications

Limiting, frontiers of illusions about superior

Tribes. The weeping and gnashing of teeth.

Border Wall, Calexico, CA, photo by Dan Meylor

)))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

I drove home the next day,

Skirting the west side of the Salton Sea

That on any day could cast an invisible cloud

Of toxic dust toward L. A.

I made images of the huge billboards that promised

THE AMERICAN DREAM: LOTS FOR SALE.

I took my car to my garage for the test.

It failed.

--

--